Judicial Nominating Commission, State

The Commission selects nominees to be considered for appointment by the Governor to the Iowa Supreme Court and Iowa Court of Appeals. It is also responsible for adopting uniform rules to govern the state and district judicial nominating commissions.

Board Administrator

Name Contact Phone Email
N/A - 999-999-9999 none@none.gov

Board Profile

Board or Commission Name Department or Agency
State Judicial Nominating Commission Judicial Branch
Location of Board Meetings Normal Meeting Schedule Normal Meeting Time
Judicial Branch Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
When a vacancy arises 1 or more full days to conduct public interviews and select nominees; additional time required to conduct individual interviews and review applications
Total Board Members Governor Appointed Vacant Appointments Term Length
9 9 0 6 Years
Organizational Authority Other Appointment Information  
46.1, 46.2A
Resident Members of the Bar

Board Members

Apply To This Board

Member Name City County Position Term Begin Term End↓ Gender Party Status
Steve Berger WELLMAN WASHINGTON Member 05/01/2014 04/30/2020 Male Rep A
Patricia "Trish" Roberts Carroll CARROLL Member 05/01/2014 04/30/2020 Female Rep A
Lance Horbach Tama TAMA Member 05/01/2014 04/30/2020 Male Rep A
Helen Sinclair MELROSE MONROE Member 05/01/2016 04/30/2022 Female Rep A
Kathleen Law Des Moines POLK Member 05/01/2016 04/30/2022 Female Rep A
Steve Sukup Clear Lake CERRO GORDO Member 05/01/2016 04/30/2022 Male Rep A
John Bloom West Des Moines POLK Member 05/01/2018 04/30/2024 Male Rep A
Dan Huitink Pella MARION Member 05/10/2019 04/30/2024 Male Rep A
Kathy Pearson Cedar Rapids LINN Member 05/01/2018 04/30/2024 Female Rep A

A = Active
V = Vacant